Android Apps’ Settings Should ALL Be Cloud-Synced

Standard

I need to format my SD Card; I am sure there’s some data somewhere on the card causing some errors at boot, and some lags during use. I’ve been living with it for a couple of weeks. It’s the internal SD that comes with Galaxy S2 and I don’t use an external one. Nearly 12 GB of apps data + music + photos. You may think that I am ranting because I am lazy to backup like 7 GB worth of my music and pictures. Couldn’t be further from the truth. My music and pictures are so well-organized in Dropbox that I don’t need a second thought before deleting.

It’s the apps data, scattered across different folders and the tricky part is you’ve to restore them back in the right places exactly, else your apps wouldn’t read those data off the card. Things like launcher preferences (I use 2 launchers btw), Whatsapp messages/photos (I keep whatsapp msgs cos sometimes I need to refer to them), and basically various apps that keep/read data off the SD card.

I know some apps have already implemented something like Dropbox integration so that the apps data would be synced automatically with Dropbox and that’s way too awesome. But I have over 140 apps installed on my phone at any time and it’s safe to say more than 2/3 of them do not support cloud-backup of their settings/preferences/data, YET. The thought that some of my favorite apps might lose all the data/settings is just scary. :/

Y U NO

Ok I’m done ranting. If you’ve a perfect solution for my problem (i.e. if you also tweak/flash AOSP ROMs a lot), do tell. I could live with even a partial solution, but definitely NOT manually setting up all my apps each time I have to format SD Card/tweak or upgrade OS.

2 thoughts on “Android Apps’ Settings Should ALL Be Cloud-Synced

  1. I’ve read a few just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to create one of these fantastic informative site.

  2. After looking into a number of the articles on your blog, I honestly
    appreciate your way of writing a blog. I saved it to my bookmark webpage
    list and will be checking back soon. Take a look at my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

Leave a comment