How To Speed Up Ubuntu 12.04 with BleachBit

Standard

When Ubuntu 12.04 was released, I decided to give Unity another shot. I skipped 11.04, 11.10 and stayed with 10.04 LTS because of various bugs first found in Unity. Ubuntu has actually become my main OS and daily driver since 2009, so stability and maintenance mean a lot to me. To my surprise, I actually like the way 12.04 works after just playing with it for a few hours.

There was one problem with 12.04, though, that I didn’t face when I was using 10.04 for close to a year. The OS actually became very laggy almost to the point of me doubting if one of my RAM sticks has stopped working. I came across a software called BleachBit after doing a bit of research regarding speeding up Ubuntu and freeing up some disk spaces. The best part? It’s free and open-source. You can install simply by calling up your Terminal (Ctrl + Alt + T) and type sudo apt-get install bleachbit.

Once it is done installing, open up your Dash and look for BleachBit and choose to run it as Root.

Now, check the options that you wish to clean on the left side of the screen. As you tick along the way, many warnings will pop up informing you what each option will clean. DO read them very carefully. It’s good to know which part of your system is being wiped.

After checking everything, just click clean and wait for the process to complete. The whole process takes about 45 minutes to 1 hour depending on how cluttered your system is. It is advisable to close all your programs and let it run in peace, so make sure you have ample time before you run BleachBit.

For me, the process helped me clear up to 60 GB of disk space and my Ubuntu 12.04 is running as snappy as a fresh install. Do give it a try to see the difference.

If you are unsatisfied with the boot time even after “bleaching” your system, open “Startup Applications” and disable any unwanted apps and services at startup.

Despite saying Ubuntu is my daily driver, I still have Windows 7 installed on my other partition, mainly for Microsoft Office and gaming purposes. Or when there’s a mainstream software I have to run on Windows, I would always have a safety net to fall back upon. If you’re looking to dual-boot Ubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7, I am afraid it’s not as straightforward as the previous versions, so you might want to check out this tutorial and follow every step closely.

Leave a Reply

